MCC Students named to the All-Connecticut Academic Team,0,3777204.story?coll=hc-headlines-education

18 College Students Named To Academic Team

May 8 2007

Eighteen community college and two-year college students from Connecticut have been named to the All-Connecticut Academic Team for their scholarly achievements and leadership.

They also represented the state in the All-USA Academic Team Competition and were recently honored at the state Capitol.

They are: Christa Douglas and Rebecca Gutierrez of Asnuntuck Community College in Enfield; Andre Bonitto and Richard Duggan of Capital Community College in Hartford; Louise Lisboa and Jamie Quaranta of Housatonic Community College in Bridgeport; Kyle Bennett and Amy Kendall of Manchester Community College; Alexandra Isaac Martinez and Amy Waraksa of Naugatuck Valley Community College in Waterbury; Lisa Fredsall and Kaye Wickman of Northwestern Connecticut Community College in Winsted; Tavarae Lewis and Mark Stephenson of Norwalk Community College; Sarah Anderson and Jullie Patterson of Quinebaug Valley Community College in Danielson; Robin Conaty and Kiersten Striebe of St. Vincent's College in Bridgeport.

Douglas was also named a New Century Scholar and will receive a scholarship for having the highest academic record on the team.

This week's Education Briefs column was written by Courant Staff Writer Melissa Pionzio.
Copyright 2007, Hartford Courant
News Item Posted On: May 08, 2007
For Additional Information Contact: Endia DeCordova-Murphy at (860) 512-2914