Manchester Community College Foundation Awards Scholarships

News Story Image
Manchester Community College Foundation Awards 129 Student Scholarships

Manchester, Connecticut ( May 10, 2012)…The Manchester Community College Foundation awarded 129 student scholarships for the FAll 2012 semester on Wednesday, May 9 at an afternoon reception for students and their families. College officials and donors attended the scholarship reception to honor the students.

The following scholarships were awarded:

The Adolf and Virginia Dehn Scholarship was awarded to Lisa C. Rochester, Bloomfield.

The Donna Glickman Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Joyce Forman, Middletown, and Megan L. Miller, Granby

Doug and Gail Anderson Scholarship was awarded to Marlena Calderon, West Hartford

Doug and Gail Anderson Scholarship and Frances Segal Scholarship was awarded to Sandra Gregory, Colchester

Ed and Eleanor Coltman Scholarship was awarded to Nancy U. Kelly, Manchester

Gerry and Saul Berkman Scholarship was awarded to Carol Ann Peters, Woodstock

The Hartford Foundation for Public Giving Scholarship was awarded to:

Brian Agrawal, Vernon; Hope Baum-Delaine, Vernon; Richard D. Bourque, Jr., Manchester; Toni R. Cobble, Manchester; Christopher D’Amore, East Hartford; Katharine Eagleson, Coventry; Nicole M. Everett, Manchester; Michael Faiaz, Vernon; Anne Marie Ferguson, Manchester; Henry Flomo, East Hartford; Natasha N. Galinat, Manchester; Susan M Garvey, Vernon; Charles Gascoigne, Vernon; Tereza Gorin, East Hartford; Debra W. Green, East Hartford; Wilma J. Howe,Vernon; Vy Nguyen, East Hartford; Jessica Leigh Pawell, Manchester; Gordon Plouffe, Manchester; Ann Marie Ramirez, Hartford; Amna Rashid, East Hartford; Frank S. Rodriguez, Newington; Nirav Shah, East Hartford; Mohammed Shoaib Shaikh, East Hartford; Dustin Smith, Hartford; Jordan Valenti, Glastonbury; Allison Waddington, Andover

The John and Linda Sutherland Scholarship was awarded to Sandra L.Bailey, Manchester; Erik Gilbert, Vernon; Tarelle Hall, Hartford; Mariah Henriques, Hartford

The John Tirinzonie Scholarship was awarded to Jiamei Liang, Stafford Springs; Lisa Yeschick, South Windsor

The Manchester Family Dental Scholarship was awarded to Amelia Delaire, Windsor Locks.

The Manchester Road Race Scholarship was awarded to Joy Wallace, South Windsor

The Hartford Foundation for Public Giving produced a video featuring MCC’s own Anne Marie Ramirez and Christopher D’Amore, who received the Hartford Foundation for Public Giving scholarship at the Fall 2012 Scholarship Reception ceremony on May 9, 2012. They share how receiving this scholarship allowed them to continue their college education.

The MCC Foundation Scholarship was awarded to:

Michael Abarca, Manchester; Nicholas Albano, Manchester; Mersida Becirovic, Hartford; Monica Belval-Lee, Manchester; Marie Busiere, Manchester; Joseph Stanley Buyonje, Vernon; Darcel Carter, New Britain; Samuel Conley, West Hartford; Amber Ellis, Union; Nicole Flanigan, Wethersfield; Yanyan Z. Freitag, Vernon; Maria Teresa Gonzalez, Wethersfield; Jacqueline S. Granata, Stafford Springs; Richard W. Hany, Jr, Ellington; Anne V. Hawthorn, Manchester; Ida Jeng, West Hartford; Edward E. Jones, Rocky Hill; Youngjoo Kim, Simsbury; Nicole Marquez, Plainville; Jimi Marturano, Berlin; Jessenia Medina, West Hartford; Faith Montaperto, Stafford; Jessica Monteza, Enfield; Christopher Moreau, Tolland; Kaila R. Morin, Wethersfield; Diana K. Orellana Bolanas, East Hartford; Jonathan Peskin, Mansfield Center; Kara D. Romano, Manchester; Matinate Sanni, West Hartford; Said Sanni, West Hartford; Robert J. Senatro, Tolland; Sanjidabanu M. Shaikh, East Hartford; Joshua P. Shaw, Tolland; Ashley Soule, South Windsor; Robert A Strevel, Enfield; Sharon E.Suchecki, Vernon; Kim A. Sullivan, Manchester; Baotram N. Tran, East Hartford; Jennifer Weigold, Tolland; Darlene J. Williams, Tolland
The NewAllliance Bank Foundation Scholarship was awarded to: Keri Renner, Bolton; Benjamin White, East Hartford

The Rockville Bank Foundation Scholarship was awarded to: Lizuannette Arroyo Alvarez, Hartford; Kamaya Bell, Hartford; Jack Dellaria, Hartford; Daniel Weiner, Jr., Hartford

The SBM Charitable Foundation Scholarship was awarded to: Patricia Albers, Manchester; Natalie Angotti, Newington; Robert F. Attenello, Jr., Granby; Rohmoya S. Bailey, South Windsor; Elise Barrieau, Vernon; Melinda Bentle, East Hartford; David Button, Manchester; Corey Cagney, Windsor; Sahrash Chaudhary, Broad Brook; Isabella K. Comollo, Coventry; Jennifer Crowder, Coventry; Valyn A. Eugene, Hartford; Tabitha Freeman, Meriden; Mary Hardy, West Hartford; Debra Marie Hayler, Vernon; Tiffanie Klick, Portland; Alexandra Leone, Marlborough; Claudia Malaga, East Hampton; Devin J. McAfee, Andover; Diane W. Morgan, New Britain; Judy A. Nai-Haydash, Manchester; Kristina Nealon, South Glastonbury; Lisa A. O’Brien, Manchester; Jesse Parrott, Hartford; Daniela Pelayo, Vernon; Sharon Pellitier, Coventry; Marlena Powers, East Hartford; Christina A Rivard, Manchester; David M. Saunders, Manchester; Joanna Schneider, Ellington; Sara E. Shaw, Willimantic; Meghan Spielman, Somers; Michaela A. Tarnowicz, Enfield; Regan H. Walters, Stafford Springs; Keun-Sil Youm, Storrs

The Thelma Edith Goldsmith-Valentine Scholarship was awarded to: Jenny M. Garcia, East Granby; Anton Pettiford, Manchester; Mariah J. Thomas, Broad Brook

The William J. McGurk Scholarship was awarded to: Kelli Connors, Broad Brook, and Kristia M. Riggs, Manchester

See the Photo Gallery »

Students of any age who possess the desire to pursue higher education are welcome at Manchester Community College. MCC is proud of its academic excellence, new facilities, flexible schedules, small classes,, low tuition and faculty with both academic and “real world” credentials. The College offers over 60 programs, transfer options, financial aid and scholarships, as well as access to baccalaureate degrees through guaranteed admissions programs with several universities. MCC is situated on a park-like campus and is easily accessible from I-84.
News Item Posted On: May 10, 2012
For Additional Information Contact: Dianne McHutchison at 860-512-2914